Some Thoughts on Travel

Well, I’m back Everett after a very fun trip to California.  I’m exhausted, so I can’t promise much in terms of a post tonight, but I thought I’d share a few  random thoughts that have occured to me as a result of this trip.

1) Using an Orca card, I was able to take two busses and light rail to the airport for $3.00 and just about zero hassle.  From boarding to bus to exiting the train, the trip took an hour and forty minutes.  I’ll happily keep paying extra car tab taxes for that.

2) I strongly believe that much of what passes for security screening is security theater and does little to keep us safe. That being said, the TSA officials conducting the screenings for both flights were courteous and efficient.  As for the x-ray machines, to me they seemed like much ado about nothing.  My experience was no worse than going through a metal detector.  In making that statement, I should add that I have never been a victim of a sex crime or targeted by a stalker or a voyeur.  If I had, my opinion on the matter  might be significantly different, and understandably so.  Once again, I need to put myself in someone else’s shoes to have a shot at an understanding that would otherwise be elusive to my own relatively priviledged experience.

3) Flying is proof that the scientific and the miraculous can peacefully coexist.

4) Arriving in L.A. will always feel, to some degree, like coming home.

5) The longest line of the whole trip was at the rental car counter.  Still, they didn’t have the car I asked for, so I got a hybrid.  Yay for shortages!!!

6) It took me ten minutes to figure out how to start the car.

7) Parents will always have stuff to talk about with one another.

8) Friends are wonderful.

9) I could never feel out of place in L.A.

10) It’s time to go to bed.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

