Change of Plan

I was supposed to work tonight, doing taxes at a different office than my normal one.  On my way there, they called me and told me that it was looking to be a really slow night.  I was given the option of going in (and taking a book) or not going in.  This proved to be a bit of a gift.  I’d been a bit bummed all day because Alissa and the kids were going to a St. Patrick’s Day party.  I had even gone so far as to ask her to bring me home a plate of corned  beef and cabbage.

Naturally, I opted to not work and joined my family and friends for good food, good fun, and some tasty hard cider. 

I also had an idea for a great post, but the fact that we’re just now getting the kids to bed at 10:30 means that the post will have to wait until I have time to do it justice. 

In the mean time, have a Happy St. Patrick’s Day.  Celebrate responsibly, and never forget that there are people in the world without much to celebrate.  The thought should make our celebrations more meaningful while calling us to seek out ways to make our world a better place.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

