Introducing the “Great” Thoughts Bracket Challenge.

Do you ever feel overwhelmed by events happening far beyond your control?  I do.  I see a civil war in Libya. I see Midwestern Republicans doing everything they can to establish government of the corporations, by the corporations, and for the corporations.  As if such momentous events far away weren’t enough remind me of 1) my relative insignificance in the grand scheme of things and 2) the fact that whatever problems I may have are nothing compared to those of others, Japan gets hammered by a monster earthquake, a tsunami, and not one but (almost) two nuclear meltdowns.  Frankly, the fact that their nation is still functioning as a civil society leaves me in awe of the Japanese people.  Of course, my thoughts and prayers are with them, and I would encourage you find a way to make charitably donations to help the survivors.  Add to that, the myriad discussions on faith and religion, and, well, I’m tired.  That’s a lot of heavy stuff.

I’m hardly a bread a circuses type, but I need to let go a bit and have a little fun, so tomorrow, I’m going to go ahead with the post I had planned for tomorrow.

Tomorrow is Selection Sunday for the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.  That’s right, folks.  It’s Bracket Time.  Tomorrow, I am going to walk though the comedy that is Andrew Viertel filling out a set of brackets. 

But wait, there’s more. 

I will also be introducing the “Great” Thoughts Bracket Challenge.  I’ll announce details tomorrow, but after I publish my brackets, I’ll ask you to send me yours.  I’ll establish a scoring system.  At the end of the tournament, I will give the entrant with the highest score the opportunity to do a guest post.  So share your brackets, and prepare to share your own “Great” Thoughts.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Promotion, Randomness, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

