Les Miserables

Well, we’re back from Cashmere, and we even got a date, courtesy of Alissa’s brother and sister-in-law.  Thanks guys!  So what did we do for our date?  Well, we finished our taxes.  (They’ve been done for a couple of weeks, but I needed Alissa in the office to sign. )  Then we went to Toys R Us to start preshopping for Harry’s birthday.  Follow it up with conversation happy hour appetizers and a rare adult beverage at Applebees, and we had our date.  (I know, hot stuff, but very welcome.)  As a bonus, Alissa’s brother found our wayward TV remote.  It had been missing for several weeks.

Well, reunited with our remote, we clicked on the TV to find a flashback to the days when we might actually consider going to the theater or doing something just as glamourous for a date.  Actually, we never saw Les Miz as  a couple, but we went with our housemates before we started dating.  Of course, I had seen it in three different cities (New York, L.A. and San Francisco) before then.

I’ve always loved Les Miz, far more than Phanton of the Opera.  I’m sure you’d be shocked to know that the political theme of proletarian revolution against a government unresponsive to the suffering of its people  is one that I find powerful and inspiring.  I used to have the soundtrack, and there would always be a risk of being caught singing “One Day More” or “Do You Hear the People Sing” full voice while wearing ear phones.  I think I had a mild crush on Frances Ruffelle’s Eponine, and I think I will always get a bit choked up by the finale.

But more than any song or adolescent crush on a fictional character, the thing that I’ve always loved about Les Miserables is it’s timelessness, it’s ability to tell a story that gets recreated time and again thoughout human history.  I hear those songs of revolution from 19th Century Paris, and I hear it echoed by suffragettes and bonus armies, freedom riders and peace activists.  I hear the echoes from Paris to Selma to Berlin to Cairo to Tehran and Tripoli and even back to Madison and Columbus.  It’s a human song that reaches to the soul and convicts us that we are in fact human beings and that sometimes, we are called to stand up to demand that our governments do better and put the human need before greed.

I hope that I never cease to be moved by Les Miserables. I feel that if I do, I will have lost something important.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Les Miserables

  1. kathi kinsella says:

    “Bring Him Home”…. the agony of transformation and transition, and the useless loss of war!

    • Andrew says:

      Kathi,
      You’re pretty good with words. You should give blogging a try. You don’t even need to make it public if you don’t want to.

  2. kolembo says:

    So…still cold up there eh? We’re in the middle of summer…if you’re out in slippers, they’ll melt in the tarmac! Enjoyed your blog on ‘evolution’.

    I struggle with my christianity, always have, but I had a good Sunday and took Communion.

    I think I am far too ‘of the world’ to ever share conversation with Christians anymore but I enjoy being with them, and sometimes, when I’m not being hard on myself, even go out to worship!

    • Andrew says:

      Spring will come to Washington, eventually. I’m from Los Angeles, so I do find myself impatient for spring as our long winter progresses up here.

      I think we’re supposed to struggle with Christianity, no matter how mature we are in our faith. We go through different seasons, some easier, others harder, but we should always be trying to grow, and growth takes struggle.

      I find that the times of greatest struggle, the greatest need, the times when I’m the hardest on myself are the times that God meets me the most because that’s when I am the most vulnerable and receptive.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

