Promises Kept, Promises Broken

Well, Alissa took the kids to see Grandma and Grandpa this weekend for a change of pace while I’m in the midst of the busiest part of tax season.  I miss them, but they will have a change of pace, which is good.  What’s more, I still get to see them.  I can’t kiss them goodnight, but I’ll be able to tell them good night, face to face.

You know, there’s have been a lot of broken promises in terms of 21st Century technology.  We’re still running of fossil fuels and razing forests to supply our “paperless” society. It was not long ago that we passed the time when Marty McFly and Doc Brown burst into the future in a flying DeLorean powered by Mr. Fusion.  Now, I’m sure I could easily enter into a rant about the fossil fuel industry hampering scientific progress, but I just got through telling someone why they really need to settle for a tax refund of a couple of hundred dollars instead of several thousand, even though they are clearly in desperate need of the larger sum, so I’ll choose to focus on the aspect of future technology that has not been disappointing: communications.

We had a good friend spend a year in Russia, and we were able to sit on our couch and talk to her face to face for an hour on a stable connection for free.  I know Skype and other video conferencing applications are hardly news at this point, but I have to let my geek flag fly and share how cool I think video calling is.  The really neat part is that now that I have an HDMI cable running from the computer to the TV, I will be able to tell my wife and kids good night on a 37 inch 1080p LCD TV. 

That’s cool. 

Now…Detroit, get busy on that flying car thing.  Of course, if that’s what brings Detroit back, they may have to start calling the Float–never mind.  Motor city is just fine.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

