What I Can’t Throw Away: A Sonnet

Wikihow placed the bee in my bonnet

That’s right, my friends, I’ve written a sonnet.

 

Gizmos and gadgets, they don’t own my heart

Materials bought with wages and pay

Not trinkets of toys, with those I could part

What is it that I could not throw away?

Memories and dreams, a child’s hopes and fears

The sting of a romance not meant to be

Friends whom I’ve kept over decades and years

Echoes of laughter, loud joyful and free.

But it does not do to dwell in the past

Balance today’s with yesterday’s notion

Mem’ries are fleeting; dreams don’t always last

Time shapes all things like sand at the ocean.

Washing and molding, eroding the dam

‘Tween boy that I was and man that I am.

Powered by Plinky

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Can’t Throw Away: A Sonnet

  1. Krystle says:

    Nicely done! Glad wikiHow inspired it 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Cost of Conformity « "Great" Thoughts

What are your "Great" Thoughts

