The Year Progresses

Can you believe it’s already February? I have a hard time getting my brain around that little fact. Yesterday’s Plinky prompt was “How is 2011 going so far?”

In a word, it’s been busy. After a reduced (not eliminated, mind you) training schedule during the Christmas and New Years weeks, it was back in the office for another week of training before the tax season opened up. We’re at the height of our first peak of activity now, so things are really busy in the office.

I’ve discovered that one element of being this busy is simplicity. My life is simple right now. I get up, go to work, go home to change and maybe grab a bite, go to work, come home, do a post, and go to bed. The next day, I do it all over again.

It’s Alissa that is really carrying the heavy load. She’s juggling her own job, getting the kids where they need to be, shopping and cooking (normally my areas) and running the household. She’s doing a great job. I can see it in the kids’ behavior, and I’m so appreciative of the extra work she’s doing.

I’m enjoying my second job. I like working with clients and helping them understand their tax situation. I feel like I’m doing something useful and that I have an opportunity to be a helpful, friendly face helping with a task that many find distasteful, scary or intimidating.

As for blogging, I’m having a blast. I love that I need to make that effort every single day to think of something to say, some thought to get across. I’ll admit, as I have before, that I wish I had the time and energy to write well about the very significant events taking place in our world. I just have to trust that I can leave it to others to comment on the historical events of today, that history won’t end before April 18, and that there will be other “big” things to write about later in the year.

After all, we wouldn’t want the news to get boring, would we?

Powered by Plinky

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in History, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Year Progresses

  1. kolembo says:

    enjoying your blog. category five cyclone to hit Australia they think, and Mubarak in Egypt not standing down.

    • Andrew says:

      Mubarek’s trying to hold on, but he’s done. He just needs to realize it. Hopefully he can read the writing on the wall. The real question is what succeeds him. It’s a quintessential crisis: great danger, great opportunity.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

