I Wish I Could Tell These Stories

I wish I could write more about what I do in the tax office.  Between wanting to keep a very wide gap between my opinions and those of my employer and the very stringent privacy policies I need to follow, I have to be very cautious about what I say.

Still, the tax office is what I know right now.  I can say this.  If you want to get a feel for your community, I can think of few better ways to do so than to sit at a tax desk.  It’s eye-opening, humbling, and even inspiring to look into the eyes of your neighbors, to hear their stories and to learn what their lives are like. 

For someone who grew up in an intact working to middle class family, it’s amazing to see the many ways people form families and how they do what they need to do to keep on keeping on.  I see people raising more kids than I on far less money.  I see people sacrificing for their families. 

Most of all, I notice how nice they are.  People who are in circumstances that I can only imagine in nightmares come in and smile, shake my hand, and share their stories with me.  The friendliness and quiet dignity I see in my clients is humbling.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

