250 Years

A few years ago, naturally it was before I had kids so you can draw whatever conclusions you like about me from that, I stumbled across a PBS Kids show called Liberty’s Kids.  Aimed at tweens, at least that’s  my assumption, the animated series traces the events of The American Revolution through the eyes of three teens apprenticed to Ben Franklin as reporters for The Pennsylvania Gazette.  Various celebrities lend their voices to bring various historical figures to life, and the show makes an attempt to explore the various complexities in the formation of our nation.

I’ve never been able to see the whole show from start to finish (although, I’ve seen several episodes many times.  I’m sure I’m not alone in having had that experience.)  Finally, the show has become available in streaming format on Netflix, so I’m now able to enjoy this fine show. Anyway, this afternoon, I watched one episode with my almost four-year-old son Harry and I explained to him that these events happened 235 years ago. (I’m watching the episodes detailing the events of 1775 at the moment.)

Anyway, I had this crazy idea for a long term project to commemorate the 250th anniversary of The American Revolution. What if someone (Congress, The Smithsonian, The Library of Congress?) put together a panel composed of historical scholars from across the political spectrum and screen writers.  Their task would be to put together a series of movies  telling the story of the Revolutionary War to be produced and marketed as major, high quality, motion pictures and released as close to the anniversaries of the events as possible.  For example, release the film detailing Paul Revere’s ride and the Battles of Lexington and Concord on or about April 19, 2025.   It could be a really neat way to observe the anniversary.

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in History, Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your "Great" Thoughts

